View Comments

  1. tommylee

    On a technical note: This is still a very “clumsy” scam since the means of checking references was rather simple to discover the true nature of the offer. However I have seen recent scams that are so concealed, using real references, e-mail farms, and websites hosted here in the US with such “gusto” and daredevil boldness that you would sell your grandma to if asked for. They are simply amazing in their approach. Since these set-ups are a matter of copy and paste to move from one website name to the next after they have struck “gold” with an unsuspecting victim, they become completely untraceable.

    Beware, economic times are ripe for scam artists and their tools are getting more sophisticated with auto responders, references that are almost authentic and using untraceable e-mail farms across the globe.

  2. Alan Houghton

    Lots of it about for short term rentals I recommend http://www.villarenters.com who act between landlord and renter and take credit card payments…heres another scammer http://www.carlobulley.com

  3. edboner

    I have to laugh. I've had some bizarre experiences in my time as a broker. This one actually started out differently and was pretty creative. It does raise the question of fraud here. It is becoming common to find squatters in homes vacated by couples with upside down mortgages. I've read a little about this in South Florida.

    You have to worry about the possible scammer who actually knew the area well enough to scout vacant homes?

  4. Antiques_Furniture

    What a great post!

  5. Nancy C. Shores

    I'd truly be amazed if anyone would fall for an $800.00/month rent at Amelia Park, not to mention the other no-brainer give-a-ways. Wouldn't you just love to personally “discipline” all the creeps of the world? Folks, if it sounds too good to be true……….

  6. Jnkdavis1

    This is not Amelia Park.. but Port Orchard, WA. Another $800 home in Port Orchard.

  7. Jnkdavis1

    Hit the button too soon. As the above article states.. they too wanted Western Union $500. And rental pmt was $800. For a 3 bedroom house. Usually in this area rent is at least $1000-1200.. The verbiage of the email listed above was the exactly the SAME verbiage of my emails.. This is way too scary that people can do this to others. I looked up the property through my county parcel search and the name on the property is the same. Weird..

  8. Dd

    Very similar ad being posted in Hillsboro, Oregon!
    Thank you for your information, I knew it had to be a scam but now i know for certain.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Water Wheel Art Gallery Psychic Reading By Linda Ronnie Stoots, Jr., Financial Advisor ACE Hardware, the helpful place, now open on Amelia Island Amelia Self Storage Fernandina Pool and Supply offers an array of products and services for your pool

advertisement

Latest comments

Recent Comments

advertisement

advertisement

SearchAmelia Gallery

petanque-america-finals Petanque America 2009 Day 1 Petanque America 2009 Day 1 Petanque America 2009 Day 1 128_3755catherinest031 Nick Deonas Realty offers Trigg Road outside 1