Fernandina Beach 2012 Historic Preservation Winners

Fernandina Beach, Florida announces their second History Preservation Award winners.

Fernandina Beach 2012 Historic Preservation WinnersFernandina Beach, FL – The City of Fernandina Beach is pleased to announce the winners of the City’s second Historic Preservation Awards. On April 10, 2012, a panel of three judges selected this year’s winners. The recipients of the second City Historic Preservation Awards include:

    Florida House Inn – First Place for Restoration/Rehabilitation at 22 S. 3rd Street. This category acknowledges proper rehabilitation of a structure according to the Secretary of the Interior Standards, and includes exterior improvements that respect the historic integrity of the structure or adaptive reuse of a building. The judges noted that the “extensive” interior and exterior work for this project warranted a first place award.

    Island Art Association – First Place for New Construction at 18 N. 2nd Street. This category is for sensitive design and careful construction of a new structure in either the Old Town or Downtown Historic Districts. The judges noted the “well-done construction that ties in with the existing structure,” and “good use of fencing to create an ‘up to the sidewalk’ feeling of a historic downtown.”

    Miranda Architects – Honorable Mention for a Sensitive Addition at 31 S. 10th Street. This category recognizes additions exemplifying compatibility with the original historic structure. The judges commended the nominee for their efforts in this project.

    Madeline Richard – Honorable Mention for Storefront Façade Renovation at 227 S. 8th Street, which recognizes projects creating a positive contribution to the streetscape and respectful treatment of historic aspects of the building. The judges appreciated the nominee’s efforts to enhance a historic building on S. 8th Street.

    Harvey Ward – winner for Craftsmanship, which honors traditional methods of construction, including but not limited to wood working, wrought-iron work, framing, or plastering, and recognition of the craftsperson that completed the work. Mr. Ward was nominated for his craftsmanship at 130 N. 6th Street, although his work can be found throughout historic buildings in Fernandina Beach.

    Michael Harrison – Preservation Champion winner for being a heritage advocate. This category is awarded to an individual(s) who has demonstrated a commitment to the preservation, protection, and enhancement of Fernandina Beach’s historic and cultural resources. Mr. Harrison was recognized by the judges for his “extensive list of contributions to the community and involvement in issues revolving around preservation;” in particular, his advocacy for highlighting the heritage of the Old Town Historic District and role in the Old Town Bicentennial in 2011.

    George Stewart – Preservation Champion winner for preservation of cultural heritage. Mr. Stewart is responsible for the renovation of Sliders Seaside Grill at 1998 S. Fletcher Avenue. The judges noted that while the project did not revolve around preserving the original structure, it did preserve a community institution and important part of Fernandina Beach’s cultural heritage.

This year’s judging panel included:
Peggy Bulger recently relocated to Fernandina Beach from Washington, D.C., where she was the Director for the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. Prior to her tenure at the Library of Congress, Peggy worked for the Southern Arts Federation for ten years, and for the ten years prior to that position, was the Folklife Programs Administrator for the Bureau of Florida Folklife Programs. In 2011, Peggy was named an American Folklore Society Fellow, and she served as President of the Society from 2000-2002. She has published numerous articles on folklife and cultural heritage, and has served as a consultant to a variety of folklife programs, history centers, and schools. She received her Ph.D. in Folklore and Folklife from the University of Pennsylvania, where she wrote her dissertation on Stetson Kennedy.

Phyllis Davis is the Executive Director for The Amelia Island Museum of History in Fernandina Beach, Florida and feels very fortunate to be able to work in such an important capacity in her hometown, preserving the history for future generations. She is responsible for 3 full-time and 3 part-time staff members and reports to the Museum’s Board of Trustees of 14 members from the local community while coordinating over 200 volunteers. She works closely with city officials, local businesses, other non-profits and the Tourist Development Council. Prior to joining the Amelia Island Museum of History, Phyllis obtained a degree in Art History at Mercer University with a minor in accounting. Her first job out of college was as an Assistant Curator at Jekyll Island Museum; however, most of Phyllis’s career has been spent primarily in the business arena. Phyllis is active in her community and is a member of Rotary (where she serves on the Scholarship Committee and is a Paul Harris Fellow), serves on the Fernandina Beach Arts Council, and is a member of the American Association of Museum’s Small Museum Administrators Committee.

Bill Leuthold is a practicing architect in Jacksonville with a specialty in historic preservation projects. Bill has received numerous historic preservation awards for his projects in Riverside Avondale, including the Herschel Street Office Building, the Grimsley House, and the Marino House. Bill has served on the Jacksonville Historic Preservation Commission, the Riverside Avondale Preservation Design Review Committee, and is on the Board of Directors for the Jacksonville Historical Society. He has also served as a staff architect for the Bermuda government, and is a licensed architect in both Florida and Bermuda. He received both his Bachelor’s and Master’s Degrees in Architecture from the University of Florida, where he specialized in Architectural Preservation.

The Amelia Island-Fernandina Restoration Foundation again partnered with the City in this awards program, an initiative of the City’s Historic District Council. The inaugural awards program was in 2010. The awards were presented to the winners by Historic District Council Chair Jennifer Cascone and Amelia Island-Fernandina Restoration Foundation President Adam Kaufman at the May 15, 2012 City Commission meeting.

For more information, please contact Adrienne Burke, Preservation Planner, at 904-277-7325, or visit www.fbfl.us/index.aspx?NID=726.

Feedburner If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment below or subscribe to the feed to have future articles delivered to your e-mail and get the latest Amelia Island News, business, tourist activities and videos every morning!

SearchAmelia on TwitterYou can also choose to follow SearchAmelia on Twitter to get your daily updates!

Leave a Comment