25 Seaports to Receive 74 Honors in AAPA’s 2008 awards Program

(Press release) ALEXANDRIA, VA – The American Association of Port Authorities, a trade group representing leading port authorities throughout the western hemisphere, has selected 25 seaports to be recognized for exemplary projects, programs and initiatives at its annual awards program event. The awards, for achievements in environmental improvement, facilities engineering and communications, will be presented to winning ports at a September 24 luncheon in conjunction with AAPA’s 97th Annual Convention in Anchorage, Alaska (www.aapa2008.com), which runs September 21-25.

AAPA chairman of the board Ken O’Hollaren (who is also executive director of the Port of Longview, in Longview, Washington) and AAPA president Kurt Nagle will present recognition awards to representatives of:

• The Jacksonville Port Authority, winner of the 6th Annual Facilities Engineering Awards competition for its project to rehabilitate the port’s storm-damaged Talleyrand Marine Terminal Berth 3 without unduly disrupting busy automobile import operations. (Among others)

Leave a Comment