Florida Residents Shoreline License Repealed

A license for Florida residents to saltwater fish from shore cost $9 last year, but beginning July 1, it's free.

Florida Residents Shoreline License Repealed

Florida Residents Shoreline License Repealed

The license for Florida residents to catch saltwater fish from shore or a structure affixed to shore cost $9 last year, but beginning July 1, it’s free. Other license and permit fees will increase on that date.

The Florida Legislature repealed the shoreline license fee during the past session. However, legislators retained the license requirement to prevent a more-costly federal registration fee from taking effect in Florida.

Resident anglers who order the shoreline license, or other licenses or permits, over the phone or Internet will still have to pay a processing fee to the vendor. The processing fee is $2.31 for Internet sales at www.fl.wildlifelicense.com or $3.33 for phone sales at 888-FISH FLORIDA (888-347-4356).

The Florida Legislature, during the 2009 session, increased permit fees effective July 1, 2010. The cost of a turkey permit will go up from $5 to $10 for Florida residents and from $100 to $125 for nonresidents. In addition, Florida waterfowl permits will increase from $3 to $5.

The cost of two saltwater fishing permits also will go up on July 1. The snook permit will increase from $2 to $10, and lobster permits will increase from $2 to $5.

Until July 1, however, sportsmen can still buy all of these permits at the current prices, and all permits are valid for one year from the specified start date.

There also is a new deer permit that will be required whenever hunting deer in Florida, beginning during the upcoming 2010-2011 hunting season. The permit will cost $5 and will not be available for purchase until July 1.

Those with a sportsman’s license, gold sportsman’s license, 64 or older sportsman’s license, military gold sportsman’s license, lifetime hunting license or lifetime sportsman’s license will not need to purchase the new deer permit because it has already been included in each of these licenses, even if they were purchased before July 1.

The deer permit, however, is not included with a hunting license, combination hunting/freshwater fishing license, combination hunting/freshwater/saltwater license or a five-year hunting license. Anyone hunting deer with any of those licenses must also buy the $5 deer permit to hunt deer legally.

All permits and related licenses are available for purchase online at www.fl.wildlifelicense.com, at county tax collectors’ offices, many retail outlets that sell fishing and hunting supplies, or by calling toll-free 888-HUNT-FLORIDA (486-8356).

There are some exemptions for license requirements. More information is available, Click Here.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Free is not Really Free For Florida Shoreline Fishing License

Leave a Comment